Lovely, Lovely Bones

books-011-wince.jpg

Well – I’ve finished it – and it didn’t take long at all. The start was a bit gruelling and I wasn’t sure I really wanted to know the detail of events  – but I kept going and was rewarded with a gentle, honest story. Alice Sebold clearly remembers exactly what it is like to be a young child, and a teenager and understands how it feels to be a parent and married and alone. Even Mr Harvey was written with tenderness and clarity. Each character’s reaction was thoroughly believable as was the community they moved around in. I do hope the film (whenever that gets made) can capture the delicacy of it all as well as the book -if only Frank Capra and Tim Burton could co-direct I would be happy. I will definitely be reading her new book now. And from a writerly perspective, her prose is simple and uncluttered – right up my street. If you haven’t yet read this – give it a go.

1 comment so far

  1. squeals on

    I read this in year 7 after my English teacher recommended it to me. I can’t remember all of what happened but I really liked reading it.
    Mum says I have a very strange taste in books.
    But after I had read Lovely Bones both parents also read it and Dad’s mum.
    It seems to have got passed around quite a lot.
    I’ve also read Lucky, will you be reading it?
    I didn’t know Bones was being made into a film. I’ll have to keep an eye out.


Leave a Reply

