Mamma Mia.. who would have thought!

I used to go to the cinema because I wanted to see a film. For a period of time I used to go alone. I worked a late shift and often had day times to myself while everyone else I knew was at work. Sometimes I would go and see a film because a friend wanted to see it. When I had children I stopped going to see films that I wanted to see and began seeing the films they  wanted to see. So for a good few years I have seen every Disney, Pixar etc that came out. Now the older two are 13 and 15 they are able to go without me and L and I take it in turns to accompany Curly Boy when his kind of film comes out – do you know how much it costs to go the the cinema now??

But, last week I went to the movies with The Lovely J – a bit of mother daughter bonding. There were two films she wanted to see and with her friends away on various holidays, I agreed. Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snoggingcame first. I should have known when I saw the credits – a Nickleodeon production. Absolutely dire! Then I had to go and see Mamma Mia. I had expected it to be a bit of cheesy fun, prepared to smile at it and tap my foot (never was an ABBA fan – my first proper ‘date’ was to see ABBA – The Movie! and that was terrible), prepared to grin and bear it for the sake of mother daughter relations. It is however a great film. The cast slip into the songs with an ironic smile on their face, when the lyrics are cringeworthy, they skirt round them with humour. My personal favourite was the rendition of Chickita– with Meryl Streep crying in a grubby Greek toilet whilst her two old friends try and soothe her. Hilarious. Close second Dancing Queen with a chorus of young lads in flippers and trunks dancing on a pier. I cried, I laughed, I tapped my foot and cringed slightly as Piers Brosnan rocked it through a couple of songs – but hey all in a good cause. I  recommend it and shall be returning again to enjoy it once more. Apologies to ABBA fans but the songs in the film are much better renditions than the original efforts. The script is great and relationships between the characters very real, I had a lump in my throat for living on a Greek Island too – forgetting all the reasons why I chose to move back to England for the length of the film, wishing I had let my daughter grow up by the sea in the sunshine – but then dilapidated houses seem so much more romantic on screen than they are in reality!

1 comment so far

  1. Ruth on

    I can’t remember the last time I went to the cinema. The film was either Spiderman or Chicago – so it’s a good few years. isn’t it? Maybe you can come and stay with me and you can drag me out and more up-to-date.


Leave a Reply

