Running hell for leather into reading for pleasure

I think it would be fair to say that I tend to run headlong into things. Once I’ve decided I’ll do it, I just do it. This has had disastrous results at times – marriage and divorce springs to mind – but something good generally comes of it all – in that case a couple of kids who are pretty good company at times and a bit of wisdom, not to mention some great ideas for poems and stories.

So, at the beginning of the year I applied for a job as Creative Practitioner at a local comp – the remit being to encourage and enthuse year 8s about reading for pleasure. My interview was by a panel of six students, the teacher who heads up literacy at the school and the regional manager of the project as a whole – he’s called the Creative Agent – what a great title.

I was thrilled to be appointed and rushed headlong towards the project as is my wont. However, after our first planning meeting I had to meet with HR – they needed all my details for the enhanced CRB check – now you see where I’m going with this… weeks have passed… 6 in fact. Then I discover that the local council sat on the paper work for 4 weeks before passing it on. CRB reckon to clear applications within 4 weeks of receipt – at this rate the summer term will be over!

I was really impressed with the group I am supposed to be working with, maybe there is hope for the future after all – and I’m not talking about a carefully selected group of high achievers either, the group are made up from a cross-section of pupils, some ‘reluctant readers’ or dyslexic, some may have ADHD etc – although to me they just seemed like regular human beings – which I think is the great thing about outsiders going in to schools to work with pupils.

Given the constraints of the curriculum at the moment teachers seem hard pushed, targets get in the way, meeting guidelines, statementing children in order to gain extra funding bla bla bla.

The thing about what I can do is that I flit in and flit out none the wiser, so if some kid is known as having  some kind of ‘statement’ I’ve no need to know, I just get on with the task in hand.

I have great plans about what to do and how to approach the project. The head of dept wants a reading cafe in the school, I want to get them blogging and writing and to feel free to read whatever they want to read rather than what they feel they should be reading. I LOVE to read, whether it’s the Metro for a good shout or something deep and meaningful.

If only that one piece of paper would come through and allow me to get stuck in there!

3 comments so far

  1. Ruth on

    Years ago I had a great book called, I think, “49 children”. It was the true story of a temporary teacher who went into a rundown New York school and motivated children who were on the verge of being on the scrap heap to write and illustrate tehir own books. Some wrote fact and some wrote fiction and pieces of their writing, and drawings, were included in the book.
    The problem is that it was such a great book that i “lent” it to someone and i don’t remember who.

    I’ve tried searching for books called “49 children” and even “39 chldren” but with no luck.

    It was one of those (hardback) books that i picked up because it was cheap and then really loved it.

  2. Anil on

    Trust bureaucracy to lay the best plans waste. Hope it works out for you.

    • anneholloway on

      thanks for that – I’ve taken a look at your blog and will definately show it to the students once we get started – it’s fascinating seeing what people read on the train or bus – don’t they mind when you take pictures?


Leave a Reply

