Italy oh Italy you are so Italian…

Well Ostuni, which is where we spent a week this summer, is very Italian, but also very Greek, in architecture at least. In the streets which surround the cathedral I felt like I was back in Crete.

We stayed in the old town in an apartment owned by a lovely English couple, Tim and Angela Devlin. L’Alcova is one of the apartments in an old olive factory lovingly restored by the couple, which they call Casa Tavani. They greeted us like old friends and by the end of the week we felt that we were just that. Between them they have had (and continue to do so) a fantastic life, we swapped stories and adventures, they accepted my title of  ‘writer’ with good faith despite never having read a word I have written. I am learning to be less embarrassed about telling people what I do – it is my other half who used to say, ‘Anne’s a writer’ and I would cringe with embarrassment as people would ask what I had published. But more and more I think people are realising (me included) that being a writer doesn’t mean you have to be a best seller and so don’t expect to have read anything you have written or heard about it on the telly. What’s more, every time I tell someone new that I am a writer, it opens up all sorts of opportunities.  Sometimes it is ideas, another time a contact, sometimes just encouragement. Angela and Tim gave me some contacts I might pursue, they have both published over the years in their own fields. So really now I have admitted to myself that writing is the thing that keeps me going, outside of family, housework, day job, I find it keeps me working harder at it. I suppose everybody needs something to lift them out of the everyday, music or painting or films or making things.

Anyway, our accommodation in Ostuni was fantastic. Angela has a great eye for detail, each apartment is decorated in a mixture of traditional and modern furniture, with paintings and accessories which make it feel like a home from home. The beds were made up in local embroidered linens, the bathroom was modern and clean, with plenty of thick white towels for us to use. There were beach towels and beach umbrellas, a cool box and beach chairs, everything you would need to make your stay more comfortable. When we arrived we were greeted by Tim and Angela and a chilled bottle of prosseco, fruit juice for curly boy. They had left fresh bread in the room, milk and another bottle of prosseco in the fridge, fruit, jam, tea and coffee. I hope we get the chance to visit again.

crisp white sheets

the street where we stayed

huge olive trees

2 comments so far

  1. Ruth on

    It’s great when a place feels like it was lovingly furnished and created by someone, not just with the right amount of beds, spoons, cushions etc.

  2. mouthypoets on

    Almost as Italian as me 😀


Leave a Reply

