Clearing away

20110828-233008.jpg
It’s hard to believe it’s almost a year since I began the process of parting company from Curly Boy’s father. It’s been a long haul and a lot of things have had to take a back seat.

I have been working hard on the allotment this year. For the first time it’s felt like it’s mine. Aided and abetted by PMM (new chap) I’ve been making slow but sure progress. Yesterday and today we moved stinky old water butts, half filled with broken glass, dug over weed filled beds, yet again, and cleared away the area under a tree near the chicken coop. We found a vine choked by weeds and tied it up, hoping that it will flourish now. The chickens have adopted the newly cleared area as their favourite spot. Whether this is due to the shade or the fact that we’ve uncovered some tasty bugs, I’m not sure.

It’s been a lot of hard work, but because nobody’s been breathing down my neck telling me what should be done and how it should be done, I find myself far more inclined to crack on with it. PMM is new to gardening and together we’ve been stumbling on and making it up as we go along. Fire starting seems to be his favourite task, with digging worms for chickens a close second. Middle Sis has been my produce and general digging advisor and Big Sis arrived for a visit this weekend to advise on flowers and general aesthetics. It’s all coming together.

In the meantime the writing has been taking a back seat. This is not good! But, I’m hoping that just as the allotment has grabbed my attention again, so I’ll get stuck into the second book. Summer is not the best time to write for me, lack of routine (not back to work until mid September) is a killer. Who would have thought I’d be hankering after that?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

