3030 Poetry Challenge day 9

Prompt for April 9th: Second fiddle

My son is learning the violin
on a borrowed instrument from school.
Group lessons.
An initiative, funded,
to enable less fortunate pupils
to learn the joys of making music.
I used to learn.
My mother paid,
bought me an instrument, 
drove me to a leafy suburban street,
where I would bow and pluck,
produce some passable tunes.
Practice, they say, makes perfect.
Ah well.

I put his fiddle to my chin the other day
and managed a recognisable,
if faltering, 
‘au clair de la lune’.

 

1 comment so far

  1. […] see another response to this prompt here […]


Leave a Reply

