3030 Poetry Challenge is really a challenge!

Well, this poetry challenge is getting harder by the day… but I am not one to give up… so here goes with Day 11.

Prompt: Getting Old

Birthday Wish

My birthday is no longer my property.
It has been commandeered.
Where, and how, I will celebrate,
regardless of whether that’s what I choose.
I gain pleasure from their pleasure.
They gain pleasure from mine.
Perhaps it has always been so.
My wishes were things,
for so many years
but now they are
‘nothing at all’.

1 comment so far

  1. […] see another response here […]


Leave a Reply

