3030 Poetry Challenge -Day 18

Ahead of time, I give you day 18 of the challenge,
the prompt: cheap earrings

Firenze

We laughed as we walked
through the streets,
boys calling out,
‘Ciao, bella!’

We got lost,
found our way, by asking
‘dove il Duomo?’
working back from there.

We tired of statues of David,
laughed some more,
arm in arm through the Uffizi,
then stopped as we caught sight of the real one,
splendid,
illuminated by sunlight,
at the far end of the gallery.

In a street behind Santa Croce,
I bought those earrings,
brass crescent moons,
cost me 6000 lira.

I lost them years ago,
first one
and then the other,
but I still have the copy of A Room With a View.

Maybe we should go back,
now we’re old ladies,
see who calls out
‘Ciao bella!’

3 comments so far

  1. Barbara Derbyshire on

    Love it, Anne.

  2. catwhistler on

    My lovely Anne – this brought back memories which make me laugh out loud even all these years later. I too still treasure my copy of A Room With A View. I miss us all. Let’s go back and if the boys no longer call out to us, we’ll call out to them! Now that we’re old ladies! xxx

    • anneholloway on

      I’m up for that! Perhaps not to that paw-print bedroom though.


Leave a Reply

