30/30 for April 5th a day late 


It was me who started the egg hunt.

It is my tradition.
She thinks it is hers,
that she started it for her children.
I know I started it for them 
and she carried on each year
until I had children too.
And now they’re almost too old for it
but we do it just the same 
because it’s a tradition after all.
We fall silent not wanting to argue
because it doesn’t matter who started it.
But it was me who started the egg hunt,
I’m sure. 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

